To trust or not to trust?

ImageI tend to trust everyone or it seems that way initially when I think about it. It’s always been my nature. I might not be the best quality but it is who I am. I can say that I trust some more than others but am finding it hard to figure the qualities that make some stand out over others. Over time my trust will decline for someone or it may even take on a roller coaster pattern.

On Facebook I don’t accept strangers as friends but some friendships have only been in the online world. That’s not to say that I trust real world friends over those I’ve only met online. I’ve formed bonds with people in this program that far exceed some friendship where I can actually meet with the person face to face.

My trust boils down to how deep a connection I have with a person. That connection is formed by becoming close to people and interacting with them often. If we’ve built up that intimacy then I will have more trust for them than others.

One behavior that stands out in regards to who I trust is that they display a positive attitude. There’s nothing more annoying than someone who only complains on social media. I also want to get value out of those I connect with. If someone is flooding my feed with nonsense then I might ignore most of what they post, even it something may be good from time to time. I also look for people that are caring and helpful. I want to know that someone is being genuine and not just in it for their own benefit. It goes back to the trust formula and how all the good qualities are multiplied together and divided by self-promotion. If you are only on social media for yourself, I don’t see many people trusting you.

The person that stands out to me is Paige Mackenzie. While I know her personally, she is a professional golfer and uses social media to build her personal brand. She demonstrates all the qualities I recently touched on. What makes her a great follow is she’s entertaining. She’s knowledgeable in her sport and provides analysis and tips for other golfers.

Paige offers a variety of different tweets by sharing personal life details or content from others. While leading a busy life playing golf, being on air with Golf Channel and traveling the world, she still finds the time to interact with her followers. She’s engaging and builds up the intimacy level that is need to trust someone.

How does she benefit from my trust? The more followers she has the more it might motivate her to continue down a great path with her social media posts. As I interact with her on Twitter, she can know that people are listening and care about what she has to offer.

Do you find yourself trusting those who have a negative attitude on social media?

Is there a value you can put above the rest when it comes to trust?

4 thoughts on “To trust or not to trust?

  1. Stacy,

    Every single word you typed in your blog could not be more spot on—which is exactly why you are one of the people I trust most. In the world, and on social media. Sure, it’s a big statement to make, but you exhibit all of the qualities that you’re looking for in people, and that’s why people trust you in return.

    Negative attitudes in general are tough, but negative attitudes continually showing up in your newsfeed are annoying. And they cause you to feel down, which is not what you want/need to feel with when there are enough things going on in your world (and the world) already. Sure you can hide posts of certain people, but at some point you’ll have to ask yourself how they’re defining you and if they’re good to stay around. So I think that you add this to your own personal trust equation, because it is important. Making sure you surround yourself with people who are good for you is essential, and not enough people do it. If positive is all we know, then we will only breed that culture. Sure, we all have down days—but find the people who will help lift you up from them. (End of my rant, sorry.)

    My value I choose to put above the rest for trust is accountability. There are too many people who will say they’ll be there for me (which seems even easier to do in our virtual world) and never are. Even if it’s just that word of encouragement when I need it, knowing that you’ll be there for me is how I’ll trust you. I find it often significantly difficult for many.

    1. Thanks for your comments Kristin. We lucked out to have each other in this program. I’ve always wondered if the negative people realize how negative they are being or if it is just who they are and to them it is normal. Accountability is huge. You want people who will be there for you and not just act like they will.

  2. Stacy,

    I can’t stand a Negative Nancy. The only thing almost as bad are people that falsify how awesome their lives are. You make a great point, though. I don’t think people realize just what an effect their whining and moaning has on others. It’s like the boy who cried wolf. If all you do is complain, then I’m going to stop listening altogether, and you will get no sympathy whatsoever when something truly bad does happen.

    Being overly peppy and positive isn’t always a good thing, either, even when it comes to brands. I feel like people value being real on social media, whether it’s acknowledging sad news, responding to negative comments, or just keeping a conversation going even when there isn’t anything new or exciting to announce.

    The more I think about it, relevancy is probably the most important aspect of building trust, at least in my opinion. You can talk all day about something but if it doesn’t hold any personal meaning, you’re not doing anything toward building your relationship with me. Know who you’re talking to, what they want to hear, and how to reach them. That seems like the quickest way to become trustworthy. It’s not just accuracy, but relevancy.

    1. Great point about being peppy and positive. That can be just as annoying. It all goes back to being human and taking the good with the bad. No one is every happy or negative all the time. There has to be a good mix of realness.

Leave a Reply

